OpenBilling

AI-assisted medical billing run by a human billing team, from claim prep to denial appeals and collections.

Editorial listing · Not paidLast verified 2026-09-29AI-native service

Visit website ↗

Company basics

Delivery model
Managed (they run it for you)
Pricing model
Not disclosed

Scope

Industries
Healthcare
Regions
United States
Languages
English

About OpenBilling

OpenBilling is a medical billing service for US medical practices that combines AI with a human billing team. It handles claim submission, denial management and appeals, and patient balance collection for independent practices across specialties such as behavioral health, physical therapy, primary care, pediatrics, cardiology and OB/GYN.

AI handles eligibility verification, coding validation, claim scrubbing against payer rules, prior authorization tracking and clean claim submission. Human billers handle appeals, payer negotiations and final sign-off on claims, and each practice is assigned a dedicated biller. The company states that AI works every claim while its billing team owns the outcome. It connects to the practice's existing EHR, and the site lists several supported EHR systems, with no migration required.

The company states that patient data is held in a HIPAA-compliant, US-based environment covered by a BAA and SOC 2 Type II controls, and is not offshored or sold.

What they do

  • End-to-end delivery (you don't operate the tools)Source · checked 2026-09-29Full-cycle service from coverage verification through patient collections.
  • Human review includedSource · checked 2026-09-29Team makes judgment calls and signs off; AI never bills on its own.
  • Works inside your existing systemsSource · checked 2026-09-29Lists integrations with major EHRs, no migration required.

Pricing

Pricing model
Not disclosed
Published starting price
Not published
Pricing page
Not published

Evidence of outcomes

BOutcomes reported by the company or its investors.Homepage self-reports 82% of appealed denials overturned and 41% faster cash; no named customers or case studies: openbilling.ai.

A: third-party verifiable outcomes · B: outcomes reported by the company or its investors · C: no publicly verifiable outcomes yet. Demos, forecasts and slogans do not count.

FAQ

How does a practice get started?

The FAQ says most practices are live in about two weeks: OpenBilling connects to the existing EHR, assigns a dedicated biller and starts working claims. (Source: https://openbilling.ai/faq)

Do we need to change our EHR?

No. The FAQ says no platform migration is needed and the service works within the current EHR without staff training on new tools. (Source: https://openbilling.ai/faq)

How is patient data handled?

The FAQ says data lives in a HIPAA-compliant, US-based environment covered by a BAA and SOC 2 Type II controls, and is never offshored or sold. (Source: https://openbilling.ai/faq)

Who is accountable for results?

Each practice gets a dedicated biller with direct contact. The company states that AI works every claim and its experienced billing team owns the outcome. (Source: https://openbilling.ai/faq)

Our read

Editorial view based on public information — not an endorsement.

Fits independent US practices that want billing outsourced and keep their current EHR. Not a fit outside the US or for teams wanting self-serve software. No public price; homepage says about half of the 5-7% typical biller rate, with quotes on a call. Compare the fee basis, BAA terms, and how appeal outcomes are reported against your current biller. Terms page is marked preliminary.

Capabilities

CheckStatusSource
End-to-end delivery (you don't operate the tools)ConfirmedSource · checked 2026-09-29Full-cycle service from coverage verification through patient collections.
Human review includedConfirmedSource · checked 2026-09-29Team makes judgment calls and signs off; AI never bills on its own.
Signed off by licensed professionals (CPA, attorney…)Not stated—
Works inside your existing systemsConfirmedSource · checked 2026-09-29Lists integrations with major EHRs, no migration required.
Private / on-prem deployment availableNot stated—
API or data exportNot stated—
Multilingual deliveryNot stated—

Commitments

CheckStatusSource
Public delivery SLANot stated—
Outcome-based pricingNot stated—
Refund / satisfaction guaranteeNot stated—
Customer data not used for trainingNot stated—
SOC 2ConfirmedSource · checked 2026-09-29Footer states SOC 2 Type II; no report seen.
ISO 27001Not stated—
HIPAAConfirmedSource · checked 2026-09-29Acts as Business Associate; signed BAA available on request.
GDPRNot stated—
Named party responsible for outcomesNot stated—

Funding

Not disclosed

How we check

Every check below links to its source and shows when we checked it. "Not stated" means we found no public statement — it does not mean "no".

Our evaluation checklist →

Other routes

Use a tool yourself

Get it implemented

Sources

  1. Company website: https://openbilling.ai/
  2. Human review included: https://openbilling.ai/how-the-ai-works
  3. HIPAA: https://openbilling.ai/terms

Change history

  • 2026-09-29 · Listed on Toolsfine